Screen Shot 2018-01-22 at 11.52.25 AM.png

The Prize


The Frontier Art Prize is a contemporary art award that supports an artist of international stature pursuing a bold new work that challenges the boundaries of knowledge and experience to reimagine the future of humanity. As a public expression of the World Frontiers Forum, the prize encourages aesthetic exploration at the crossroads of biology, ecology, architecture, food, communications, transportation, human health, biotechnology, design and physics that changes how we think and live.  Founded by David Edwards (Harvard, Le Laboratoire) and Bridgitt Evans (VIA Art Fund), the Prize is awarded annually by an international jury.

In addition to the founders, current jury members includes:

Jennifer Flay (FIAC)
Evelyn Hankins (HirshhornMuseum)
Laurent Le Bon (Musée national Picasso-Paris)
Hans Ulrich Obrist (Serpentine Gallery)
J.D. Talasek (National Academy of Sciences).

The first Frontier Art Prize recipient, Doug Aitken, was honored at a dinner on 18 October 2017, the opening night of the FIAC Art Fair, at the Musée national Picasso-Paris.  The artist received an award of $100,000 as seed support for a contemporary art dream.

Read the 2017 prize announcement press release